I was an SM virgin

Okay, so that headline sounds way kinkier than I meant it to be. As theatre folk know, the SM I’m referring to here is Stage Manager. So get your frickin’ minds outta the gutter, for cryin’ out loud.

Here’s the deal: SM Extraordinaire Margot “Mom” Devlin is still running Hedda Gabler this week, so I volunteered to fill in for her at the Hound/Magritte rehearsals till she’s done.

Did I mention I’ve never SMd before?

Sure, as an actor, I’ve taken care of my own blocking and rehearsal notes – and I’m pretty good at it – but never for the entire cast. Wow. And last night we were rehearsing After Magritte – and, boy, is there a lot of blocking in that play. A lot of very precise blocking too – a lot of which is, thankfully, included in the script.

To add to the fun, one of our actors was off sick, so I got onstage for the last two scenes we were working on. So there I was, a multi-tasking machine – recording blocking, taking notes and playing the young police constable. And I didn’t do too badly, if I do say so myself. This morning, I typed up the notes (since I don’t have one of those funky mini-laptops like “Mom”) and sent them off to the gang – then scanned the blocking notes and sent them to “Mom.”

And I’m doing it all again tonight for The Real Inspector Hound rehearsal – well, hopefully not standing in for an actor this time (though it was fun). Hopefully, I won’t screw up.

2 Comments

Filed under Hound & Magritte

2 responses to “I was an SM virgin

  1. Charmaine

    Hey Imp! We all know there isn’t much you can’t excell at when you try! I am just thankful that you have never (yet) undertaken anything REALLY evil…… you’d be good at it! Hah hah hah!

Leave a Reply

