Our friend & colleague Lindsay Empringham

Some sad news today. I just learned that long-time Alumnae member and theatre colleague Lindsay Empringham (pictured, left, with Dinah Watts in her last role at Alumnae: Professor E.M. Ashford in Wit) died on Tuesday.

There are notices in the Toronto Star and The Globe and Mail. The family will receive friends at the Humphrey Funeral Home – A.W. Miles Chapel, (1403 Bayview Avenue, south of Davisville) from 2-4 p.m. and 7-9 p.m. on Friday January 21st. A service in celebration of Lindsay’s life will be held at Rosedale Presbyterian Church, 129 mount Pleasant Road, on Saturday, January 22nd at 11 a.m. In lieu of flowers donations may be made in Lindsay’s name to: The Beaverton town Hall Players, the Alumnae Theatre or Perram House. Condolences and memories may be forwarded through: www.humphreymiles.com

I met Lindsay years ago, in a production of The Women with the Village Players, and enjoyed working with her very much. I was amazed at her physical and emotional courage and strength while living with her illness – and, especially, acting in a play like Wit, which put things very close to home for her. During the photo shoot when this picture was taken, we were all a bit tired and punchy – and she cracked us all up by reading the chapter from The Runaway Bunny that had been edited from the play: a bit where the mother told her child that she’d become the wind and “blow you.” I still have the tiny upholstered chair she gave me (a different one to each of us in the cast) as a memento of that production.

Thoughts go out to her family and friends. Lindsay will be missed.

9 Comments

Filed under News

9 responses to “Our friend & colleague Lindsay Empringham

  1. Victoria Shepherd

    What a courageous woman, and what a stunning performance she gave. Very sad news.

  2. Andrew Freund

    My condolences to Lindsay’s family. She will be greatly missed.

    I directed Lindsay years ago in Marvin’s Room for Amicus. She was such a joy to collaborate with; so giving, so adventurous, so meticulous and so willing to take risks and explore.

    Goodnight princess and flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.

  3. I remember Lindsay really really well from when I was involved with the Alumnae regularly in the early 2000s. She was always SO nice and SO fun to work with. I was really sorry to learn the news :(. My sincere condolences to her family.

    Jessica

  4. A wonderful person & a wonderful actor. I will miss her.

  5. theresa arneaud

    Sad news indeed! I met and costumed Lindsay when she did The Glass Menagerie at the Village Players. She was elegant, and sweet; thoughtful and kind. She was lovely in the role of the mother in that play. Even though we only worked together once, she never forgot me or my name whenever we met at various thatre functions. All best wishes to her family, whom she adored!

    • Thank you Theresa. At the memorial service today, it was noted how Lindsay connected with people, and one of my other Alumnae colleagues mentioned how she treated everyone in a production – fellow actors and crew – with equal kindness and respect. She really was a joy to work with.

  6. Thanks to everyone who’s read this post and left heartfelt comments about Lindsay. I let her family know (through the on-line condolence page at humphreymiles.com ) that this post is here and includes some lovely memories.

  7. Barbara Pepper

    June 13, I have just found this site in seeking information about Lindsay. I am so sorry to hear that she has passed on and I send my condolences to her family.
    Lindsay came into my life as a student of the cello, and she was a delight to teach. She practised regularly, made little performances in Beaverton, her escape from the big city, and only missed lessons when she was involved with the theatre. I miss her very much. Barbara Pepper

Leave a Reply

