“Sylvia” opening night recap, and Leslie’s amazing costume

Apologies for this belated post – fighting a nasty cold & cough this week.  Yes, opening night (November 11) was sold out.  So VERY sold out.  Read MooneyOnTheatre’s review at  http://www.mooneyontheatre.com/2011/11/13/review-sylvia-alumnae-theatre-company/ and you can hear all about it!

The audience was engaged from start to finish, laughing almost continuously.  And more than a few of us got a little verklempt at the end – I won’t spoil it except to reassure you that it is a happy ending.  Alumnae Theatre’s former bloggergal, Cathy McKim, who now writes her own blog, posted her impressions at http://lifewithmorecowbell.wordpress.com/2011/11/13/alumnaes-dog-gone-hilarity-tips-city-shines/#respond

Random things I enjoyed:  Sylvia’s adorable butt wiggle when she’s happy.  Sylvia in the park, telling Greg, “I have to check my messages”, and going to sniff at a post!  Greg’s astonished face when Sylvia goes berserk (complete with blue language) upon spotting a cat.  Kate and Sylvia squaring off.  Phyllis and Sylvia’s strained meeting.  Tom and Greg man-bonding over their women troubles.

And after goggling at the get-up that actor Mary Joseph wears as Leslie the marriage therapist, I just had to ask, HOW do you get into that costume?  Mary tells me:

 “The cast arrives and starts putting on their initial costumes one hour before show time. Even though I am only in the second act, I have to start dressing at the same time as my colleagues because it takes me the full first act to pour into that unitard. Each time I enter on stage it takes me a full 5 steps just to get my legs moving and when I sit it is like bending cardboard in half. But I do look good, don’t I ?” 🙂

Marriage therapist Leslie (Mary Joseph) with clients Kate (Dinah Watts) and Greg (Andrew Batten). Photo: Bruce Peters

Yes, Mary, you sure do!  See it for yourself – “Sylvia” runs until next week Saturday, November 26. Performances are at 8pm Wed – Sat; 2pm Sun.  There will be a Talkback after this Sunday’s matinée – reservations not required for matinée.

Purchase tickets online at www.totix.ca  for Thursday – Saturday shows, or reserve and pay cash at the theatre anytime.  reservations@alumnaetheatre.com 416-364-4170 Box 1.  Thursday – Saturday tickets are $20, Wed is 2-for-1, Sundays PWYC.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011/12 season, Sylvia

Leave a Reply

