Third time to “inhabit the habit” for Elvis’s Toenail actor

Barbara Taylor plays [yet another] nun in Toronto Irish Players’ Elvis’s Toenail.  Opening Feb 19 at Alumnae Theatre. RESERVATIONS / INFO: http://www.torontoirishplayers.com
or 416-440-2888.

Toronto Irish Players

Long-time TIP member, Barbara Taylor, who plays Mother Francis in upcoming show Elvis’s Toenail, shares her Mother Superior secrets.

TIP headshots - Print - b&w-3

I believe it is not your first time to play a woman of the cloth?

This is my third time to inhabit the habit.

 Where do you draw inspiration for such characters?

I was a student of the Dominican Convent, Eccles Street, Dublin and no stranger to “The Nuns”.  I had a particularly challenging relationship with a Sister Mary Henry or The Hen as we all called her.  She certainly supplied me with lots of experiences to draw from.  Each of the roles I have played as a nun have been different but being educated in a convent provided me with a wealth of Sisters to help develop my “holy” characters.

Do you relish playing imposing characters?

I enjoy playing a role of any kind but I do feel finding the right level of being imposing is important.  I love…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

